Tuesday, October 24, 2006

Atlanta Ballet on AFM unfair list

The saga continues...The ballet has been contacting musicians to record Michael Moricz’ score to “Great Gatsby” for the Atlanta Ballet. The score calls for symphonic orchestra, as well as a 17-piece jazz band. Needless to say the union is pretty unhappy about this latest endeavor.

A picket is planned for this weekend at the Fox Theatre during the ballet's performances:

Oct. 26 at 6:30 PM to 7:30 PM
Oct. 27 at 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Oct. 28 at 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Oct. 28 at 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Oct. 29 at 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Oct. 29 at 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM

I can give you contact info of the organizer of the picketing if you need it.

Saturday, October 14, 2006

Bent Frequency's MICROSCAPE II: Sunday Oct 22, 8PM at Eyedrum

Bent Frequency presents MICROSCAPE II, our Second annual Composers' Concert, featuring the top selections from our 2006 Call for Scores, music of Atlanta composer Alvin Singleton, and a tribute to composer György Ligeti, who died in June of this year. We present this concert as an opportunity to expose upcoming and young composers to a wider audience, to celebrate the personalities that make our local musical community unique, and to honor the passing one of the great musical minds of our time.

Patricia Alessandrini - When David Heard
Per Bloland - Negative Mirror, Part II
Panayiotis Kokoras - Metasound
György Ligeti - Selections from Piano Etudes, Book 1
Carolyn O'Brien - Conveyance
Alvin Singleton - Argoru VIII

Mr. Bloland and Ms. O'Brien, will be in attendance. We hope to see you there!

Sunday, October 22nd 2006 at 8:00 PM
Eyedrum Art/Music
Suite 8, 290 MLK Jr. Drive SE
Atlanta, GA 30312
Admission is $10 ($8 for students)

More info:
Bent Frequency's 2006 Call for Scores generated nearly 200 submissions from composers in the United States and abroad. Our selections from this year's group were:
"When David Heard" for percussion, contrabass, and electronics by Patricia Alessandrini;
"Negative Mirror, Part II" for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, percussion, and electromagnetically-prepared piano by Per Bloland;
"Metasound" for flute, trombone, percussion, and contrabass by Greece's Panayiotis Kokoras;
"Conveyance" for alto flute, bass clarinet, and piano by Carolyn O'Brien.

Composer Alvin Singleton has strong ties to the Atlanta music community from his residencies at the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra and at Spelman College . His "Argoru VIII" for solo snare drum was commissioned by the "Meet the Composer" series for Atlanta music ensemble Thamyris in 2002.

György Ligeti (1923-2006) is widely recognized for the "micropolyphonic" music that appeared in the films of Stanley Kubrick, though his body of work includes many rich operatic, symphonic, choral, chamber, solo and electronic compositions. His solo piano Etudes, inspired partly by fractal mathematics, African polyphony, and jazz genius Thelonius Monk, are considered masterpieces of piano technique and expression.

Saturday, October 07, 2006

ASS(G) October Wrap-

Thanks to everyone that came out Thursday night. We had a blast "vivisecting" Johnson, Chicago, Horst, Barber, Stravinsky et al..and focused on the differences of "Chordal" vs "Linear" as a basis for composing a piece of music. Eddie always does an awesome job of presenting information in such a way that everyone, from the advanced to the beginner, gets something out of it. Thank you, Eddie!

If you have a suggestion for a subject that would like to see covered in a future meeting, please let us know.

Also, If you would like to get more involved in helping with the meetings, a couple of opportunities are open: we would like to make the meetings available as a Podcast in either Audio only or Video/audio format. We need someone to record the meeting each month and someone to get it online as a Podcast, or one person to do both. Contact me if you are interested.

We have something a bit different planned for next month, stay tuned.


Opera Scenes

Opera Scenes
Friday, November 17, 2006 - 7:30 PM
W. Dwight Coleman, artistic director
Featuring scenes from American operas, including Ned Rorem's Our Town and Carlisle Floyd's Cold Sassy Tree.
Venue: Kopleff Recital Hall
Cost: FREE
Contact: 404-651-INFO

Curtis Bryant says:

Though not listed on the blurb, the concert will feature an excerpt from my opera-in-progress "The Anarchists." The libretto by Allen Reichman, a psychiatrist in New York, is based upon Joseph Conrad's 1907 novel entitled "The Secret Agent." We changed the name, because the original title seemed to connote a "cold war" era theme, but its story line is much more relevant to today's world of terrorism and the xenophobic political climate.
The story is about an anarchist and reluctant terrorist named Verloc, who uses his developmentally disabled brother in law to plant a bomb at the Greenwich Observatory in London. The job is bungled and the young Stevie is blown to bits in the park. What Verloc doesn't realize is that his wife, Winnie has a maternal attachment to her younger brother, and when she learns that her husband has been the cause of his death a new level of familial anarchy ensues.
The scene being produced in the upcoming program is a relatively tame one early in the story (Act I, Scene 3). Winnie and Stevie are accompanying their mother to her new retirement lodgings, which are located in a rather poor neighborhood of the city. As they return to catch a bus, they encounter a chorus of shadowy street people. Being a very sensitive child, Stevie becomes upset that there is such a disparity between rich and poor, and Winnie calms him with an aria in which she declares that she will protect him from any harm.

Monday, October 02, 2006

A Garden of Infinity

Sunday October 8th at 3pm at St. Philip's Cathedral, Peachtree Road, Atlanta, Albert Ahlstrom, a local Atlanta composer, will perform the premiere of a 30 minute work "A Garden of Infinity". This work uses several forms of minimalism, techno-pop, Stravinsky, and a bit of Golijov's dance energy to create a fun orchestral high energy organ piece. The organ at St. Philip's is quite large and colorful, so if you are free Sunday afternoon, you might come by for the half hour program. You can hear some other music by Albert at www.albertahlstrom.com, though this piece is not quite like any of the other listening on the site.