Wednesday, March 05, 2008

ASO to premiere new work by Gonzalo Grau

The Atlanta Symphony Orchestra will present the world premiere of Gonzalo Grau's Pregunta y Respuesta as the 14-minute opener for this week's subscription concerts at Symphony Hall, Thursday-Saturday, March 6, 7 & 8 at 8:00pm. Robert Spano conducts the program, which also includes Samuel Barber's Concerto for Cello and Orchestra (the first time the ASO has ever performed it) featuring ASO principal cellist Christopher Rex, and Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 4.

The program notes Ken Meltzer can be found here.

I spoke with Gonzalo for a half hour on Sunday night. He says this is his first major symphonic premiere, so as you can imagine he's very excited.

I hope to publish an article based on that interview soon. Watch for it.

—Mark Gresham

No comments: